2021 Independent Spirit Awards Live Stream: Watch Online for Free

This year’s postponed 36th Film Independent Spirit Awards with SNL‘s Melissa Villaseñor hosting will feel different than years’ past. In addition to premiering on a Thursday night versus Saturday night following a pandemic delay from February, TV programs will be honored for the first time in the ceremony’s history.

The 2021 Spirit Awards will be simulcast Thursday, April 22nd at 10/9c on the IFC cable TV channel and AMC+ streaming service. Find out how to watch the Independent Spirit Awards 2021 online free without cable on either viewing option.

Philo 7-Day Free Trial

The Philo streaming service includes IFC live programming along with on-demand of previously aired content with 63 other channels in its lineup. There’s a 7-day free trial period for Philo that will let you take this fantastic streaming service for a spin.

Opt out at the end of the trial or keep the service for a mere $20 a month. There’s no contract commitment during or after the trial; cancel at any time.

Did you miss the 36th Film Independent Spirit Awards after it aired live? Don’t worry if you did as Philo keeps programs  available to watch whenever you’re ready to watch them. Jump in with your Philo free trial, search for Spirit Awards by name in the Philo app and start streaming the ceremony immediately starting April 23rd.

Other Philo features include an unlimited size DVR that stores recordings for up to 30 days, simultaneous streaming on up to three devices, and the ability to create up to 10 profiles per account.

AMC+ via Amazon Prime Channels

Taking advantage of a free 7-day trial of AMC+ via Amazon Prime for Prime Members allows you to stream the Spirit Awards online for free. Then you can decide if you want to keep AMC+ before the trial expires at the small cost of only $8.99 a month.

Simply access the AMC+ app on your phone, tablet, computer, smart TV, gaming or other device after signing up and you’re good to go.

If you don’t have Amazon Prime yet, sign-up for a 30-day Prime free trial or a six-month free trial if you’re a student, then take advantage of the 7-day AMC+ TV free trial.

Independent Spirit Awards 2021 Preview

Here are the nominations for the 2021 Film Independent Spirit Awards by category.

Best Feature
First Cow
Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
Never Rarely Sometimes Always

Best Director
Lee Isaac Chung (Minari)
Emerald Fennell (Promising Young Woman)
Eliza Hittman (Never Rarely Sometimes Always)
Kelly Reichardt (First Cow)
Chloe Zhao (Nomadland)

Best First Feature
I Carry You With Me
The 40 Year Old Version
The Sound of Metal
Miss Juneteenth
Nine Days

Best Female Lead
Nicole Beharie (Miss Juneteenth)
Viola Davis (Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom)
Sidney Flanigan (Never Rarely Sometimes Always)
Julia Garner (The Assistant)
Frances McDormand (Nomadland)
Carey Mulligan (Promising Young Woman)

Best Male Lead
Riz Ahmed (The Sound of Metal)
Chadwick Boseman (Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom)
Rob Morgan (Bull)
Steven Yeun (Minari)
Adarsh Gourav (The White Tiger)

Best Supporting Female
Alexis Chikaeze (Miss Juneteenth)
Yeri Han (Minari)
Valerie Mahaffey (French Exit)
Talia Ryder (Never Rarely Sometimes Always)
Yuh-jung Youn (Minari)

Best Supporting Male
Colman Domingo (Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom)
Orion Lee (First Cow)
Paul Raci (Sound of Metal)
Glynn Turmann (Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom)
Benedict Wong (Nine Days)

Best Screenplay
Bad Education
The Half of It
Never Rarely Sometimes Always
Promising Young Woman

Best First Screenplay
Kitty Green (The Assistant)
Noah Hutton (Lapsis)
Channing Godfrey Peoples (Miss Juneteenth)
Andy Siara (Palm Springs)
James Sweeney (Straight Up)

Best Cinematography
Jay Keitel (She Dies Tomorrow)
Shabier Kirchner (Bull)
Michael Latham (The Assistant)
Hélène Louvart (Never Rarely Sometimes Always)
Joshua James Richards (Nomadland)

Best Editing
I Carry You With Me
The Invisible Man
Never Rarely Sometimes Always

Robert Altman Award
One Night in Miami

Best Documentary
Crip Camp
Dick Johnson Is Dead
The Mole Agent

Best International Film
The Disciple
Night of the Kings
Preparations to be Together for an Unknown Period of Time
Quo Vadis, Aida?

Piaget Producers Award
Kara Durrett
Lucas Joaquin
Gerry Kim

Someone to Watch Award
David Midell (The Killing of Kenneth Chamberlain)
Ekwa Msangi (Farewell Amor)
Annie Silverstein (Bull)

Truer Than Fiction Award
Cecilia Aldarondo (Landfall)
Elegance Bratton (Pier Kids)
Elizabeth Lo (Stray)

John Cassavetes Awards
The Killing of Two Lovers
La Leyenda Negra
Lingua Franca
Saint Frances

Best New Non-Scripted or Documentary Series
Atlanta’s Missing and Murdered: The Lost Children
City So Real
Immigration Nation
Love Fraud
We’re Here

Best Scripted Series
I May Destroy You
Little America
Small Axe
A Teacher

Best Female Performance in a Scripted Series
Elle Fanning (The Great)
Shira Haas (Unorthodox)
Abby McEnany (Work in Progress)
Maitreyi Ramakrishnan (Never Have I Ever)
Jordan Kristine Seamón (We Are Who We Are)

Best Male Performance in a Scripted Series
Conphidance (Little America)
Adam Ali (Little America)
Nicco Annan (P-Valley)
Amit Rahav (Unorthodox)
Harold Torres (Zero, Zero, Zero)

Best Ensemble Cast in a New Scripted Series
I May Destroy You
Ensemble Cast: Michaela Coel, Paapa Essiedu, Weruche Opia
Stephen Wight

Watch 2021 Independent Spirit Awards Online

TheHDRoom may be paid a small commission for any services or products ordered through select links on this page.